Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Our Unconstitutional Government

"If you don't like it here, move to another country." Is that the answer when I say we need to end the ceaseless and increasing welfare programs? I want to know if these people took history in school. At one time in this country's history, there was a man named James Madison. If this is the first time you've heard of him, he just happened to be one of the Founding Fathers of our country. He is actually acknowledged as the "father of the constitution." So we can, more or less, take him as an authority on how the government was to run. Here's a history lesson for the socialist democrats. In 1794, when Congress appropriated $15,000 for relief of French refugees fleeing from insurrection in San Domingo to Baltimore and Philadelphia. James Madison wrote, "I cannot undertake to lay my finger on that article of the Constitution which granted a right to Congress of expending, on objects of benevolence, the money of their constituents." But even so, a major portion of the federal budget is “benevolence.” That includes welfare, Medicare, subsidy programs, Medicaid, Social Security, and a host of other programs. James Madison, in Federalist Paper Number 45 wrote, "The powers delegated by the proposed Constitution to the federal government are few and defined...exercised principally on external objects, as war, peace, negotiation, and foreign commerce; with which last the power of taxation will, for the most part, be connected."

That being said, who should move to another country? Stop continually changing this country to suit your personal agendas. If you want to save the baby ducks, donate to Ducks Unlimited. Find a group and collaborate on purchasing land where the ducks live. You want to help single mothers? Volunteer, found a group, or donate to an organization willing to house, feed, educate, or otherwise support them. The government is the last institution of choice. The waste is tremendous and their benevolence doesn't come from their hearts. Are you naive enough to believe otherwise? Don't attempt to hit on those greedy corporations either. They donate to charity in many ways and provide jobs, educations, and retirement to Americans. Walmart alone donated $296 million to charity in 2007. How much would they have given if not for paying billions in federal and state taxes? How many more people would they employ? How much better would their health and retirement benefits be? This is common sense.

An attempt to label me as cruel and greedy will get you nowhere. I would like to keep this bit of personal information to myself, but I know how you think. Even though my savings are non-existant and the government confiscates and wastes a good portion of my earnings, I somehow manage to donate ten percent of my earnings to charity. I'm certain you do the same correct?

In closing, if you don't like it here, you move to a socialist country like Cuba, China, Venezuela, or the Soviet Union. Oh, wait a minute, that socialist dream government collapsed already. Socialism works. Just look at the examples.

Friday, June 6, 2008

Great Obamaisms in YouTube History

Here is Chairman Obama telling you how the government wants to control what you drive and how cool or warm your house will be http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=XXIvmJ8xenc&NR=1

Here's a GREAT speech by Barack...you gotta see it http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=AYa8k09V7lI

Here's how he doesn't recognize a threat...and then how he does. Hmmm...I don't think I had to have someone talk me into it. I knew it already. http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=NKBs15WrDTA

Here's is stupid potential first lady. http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=KDBM_dDIMz8

And here's to the stupid gun toting churchgoers. http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=DTxXUufI3jA

Barack on his experience. http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=5BnLozS-TnM

Barack doing the hip-hop http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=JU2Yv-rnJEo

Imagine if a Bush or Quayle said this http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=EpGH02DtIws

And here's Obama versus Obama http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=p2X05ad0l94

And this is just the beginning...more to follow...

Wednesday, June 4, 2008

Great Government YouTube Moments!!

This is VERY entertaining. Make sure you watch the WHOLE thing and please note that he is READING what he's saying... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CCwwCCQozPM

And if you think he was being sincere...here's some of his previous grandstanding...and this man is an elected official. He's insane (and an ex Klansman)!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yxLV0bVysnk & http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uYgXRU8gCls & http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKJWemn6BMg & http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0FIBJt-c2o0

And here is the TRUE democratic party. It was a slip of the tongue, but be warned it is a SOCIALIST party!! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GqjFBiPMmBE

Legalized Illegal Immigration

Illegal immigration has gotten so far out of hand that there is no easy fix to the situation. Unchecked, the costs incurred by it could bring our straining financial system to its knees in education, healthcare, criminal, and various welfare program costs. To send all the illegals back could cause a tremendous backlash to our economy. Unemployment is currently around 4.5%, which is considered full employment, and the loss of a large portion of our low-paid workers would cause serious inflation. Worst of all, there is a rapidly growing negative sentiment toward the Hispanic population. I've seen the looks American citizens of Hispanic heritage receive when they enter businesses. My fear is they are all assumed to be illegal. And yes, we do need to refer to illegal immigrants as illegal, not undocumented. Labeling them as undocumented is just an attempt to soften what is truly a growing problem for our country. It's a strategy that is similar to calling rape "sex without consent," murder could be "unilaterally quieting a life," speeding could be "expediting travel," and drunk driving could be "driving without a care." But I digress.

Approximately 74% of illegal immigrants have less than a high school education. Immigrants coming from Mexico increase their income from $2.30 to $8.50 an hour (adjusted for the cost of living in both countries). Who can blame them for wanting to come if there are no penalties other than risking being sent back? The Pew Hispanic Center estimates that in 2005, 80 to 85 percent of Mexican immigrants who had been in the United States less than ten years were unauthorized. This is totally unacceptable. This country needs an expanded worker visa program and excuses that "our system can't handle it" are getting old. The government was able to track an unpaid speeding ticket across state lines during one of my military moves, but can't process enough visa applications? Get real. Make the system handle it.

Our government needs to solve this problem, not politicize it and make excuses. Government inaction is creating problems for cities throughout the nation as they attempt to cope with and enforce a national issue at a local level. Our first step should be to secure the borders to our country. We need to know who is currently here and who is entering our country! I retired from the military 8 years ago. My specialty was electronics. Trust me. They can secure the borders using technology that existed when I retired. The enforcement may not work perfectly, but good enough to stop the mass migration. We must also ensure all illegal aliens register with immigration authorities and receive papers and a personal identification card. EVERY citizen should have to carry one, otherwise, how do we know who you are? I am forced to carry a driver's license while driving. I also was required to carry a military ID. As far as I know, it hasn't caused undue hardship on me. But then again, I've never had any reason to hide my identity from authorities. You should also have to use one to identify yourself at the polls. Why wouldn't anyone want this...unless of course you're a criminal. It's a small price to pay to live in this country. If you don't like it, move to a different country.

After the registration program is implemented, if anyone is caught unregistered after a set grace period, back they go, no excuses. If these legally registered immigrants stay employed, obey our laws, and learn English, move them to the head of the line for citizenship, but after those attempting to enter through traditional legal means. If any immigrant (note that they are no longer called illegal) is convicted of a felony, gang related activity, driving while under the influence, sex crime, or violent crime, impose the maximum prison sentence and deport them immediately. If they are caught in this country again, immediately incarcerate them and then deport them. Hopefully this will deter them from ever coming back...if they can get back. Is this unfair that we pay for their incarceration? Yes. But in the end it will reduce criminal activity and the costs associated with it. It will also tell criminals wishing to harm us to stay out of our country.

A true guest worker program should be implemented, perhaps adjusted seasonally to fill agricultural needs, to allow gaps in our labor workforce to be filled. This option would allow one parent to come here to work temporarily and thus reduce the burden to our healthcare, social security, and education systems. This would allow those individuals wishing to maintain citizenship in their home country to do so. I know that it's sad to separate parents in such a way, but it happens in many careers. Airline pilots, ocean-going seaman, truckers, traveling businessman, and military personnel spend many days away from their families and still manage. The temporary workers could send the income back to their families. They could improve their families' lives and to cite two examples, provide better healthcare at home and perhaps finance college educations. This would surely help Mexico's flailing economy and possibly stem the immigration tide as conditions improve. Would there be a net loss to this country in terms of an export imbalance? Sure. But overall, paying $8 an hour to someone versus $15 an hour due to a depleted workforce will keep our homegrown fruits and vegetables from possibly doubling in price. The net may be in our favor. Even if we require the temporary workers' employers to purchase health insurance, we'll still be way ahead of the game.

There is no easy answer to a problem which was allowed to go unchecked by our government for so long. It is now a highly emotional problem for all involved. Who wants to split up families? Who wants to send a child to a country he or she has never known. There will surely be some tough calls made in the near future, but we need to keep in mind the final outcome. Some of the blame and future decision making will fall on the illegal immigrants currently here. Their choices will determine whether they are successful or fail. Considering the work-ethic I've personally witnessed, I have faith that most will achieve their goals.

One thing that must happen or we will handicap the new citizens for the rest of their lives is they must, must, must learn English. If not, the odds are overwhelming that they will be blowing leaves, cooking burgers, or cleaning for the rest of their lives. There may be the occasional success story, but the odds are slim. The inability to speak English also separates them from our culture and makes them a target for ridicule and hate. Indeed, anyone who has studied history knows the traits that which define a nation. Among them are common descent, culture, religion, and yes, language. Given that descent has always been something which causes strife in this country, multiculturalism is now lauded, and religion is becoming so diverse, the only thing which can bring us all together is our language and the land in which we live.

It's sad that the people of this country have been forced to make such strong demands of our government that we have been labeled as being racists or callous just because we want a controlled legal immigration policy. We just want our country to remain the great country that it is, a country of immigrants whose goal is to become part of the American dream. It looks like we'll have to figure it out at the grassroots level though. Nothing like having a government that doesn't do their job. Thanks Congress! You represent us so well.

Give Us OUR Money!!

Imagine you're sitting in a car dealership buying a new car. You've negotiated a price and are signing on the dotted line when the sales manager introduces himself and shakes your hand while giving you some pleasant news. The manufacturer has announced an immediate rebate of $800. While completing the financing paperwork, the finance manager tells you that since you can afford a new car and others can't, they are going to give $200 of your money to the next person they see driving a car manufactured before 1998. Then the finance manager reconsiders and says that won't be fair to the people forced to ride buses and says they're going to give $100 to the next person they see at the bus stop. You'll still get $500 though. Do you like this idea? It's basically what the government is doing with the Economic Stimulus Package. Since funneling money back into consumer's hands creates a temporary in-flux of money into the economy, they've decided to give us "rebates" of tax money we've paid to do this. According to Webster's dictionary, a rebate is "a return of a part of a payment." The sad part is that they're giving money to people who didn't pay any taxes last year. Or, to put it bluntly, they're taking money from one set of people and giving it to other set of people. The Bush Administration's original plan was to give taxpayers up to $800 each, provided they paid up to $800. The democratically controlled House got their hands on the idea and decided that even people who do not pay taxes should get $300 and taxpayers should only get $600. Then it was the democratically controlled Senate who grabbed my money, decided everyone should get $500 and took up for those on Social Security, giving them $500 also. Now my rebate is reduced to $500. This isn't right and should absolutely be unconstitutional. I don't mind when they create programs to help feed, clothe, or educate the poor, but taking cash out of my pocket and handing it to others is criminal. Another tax scandal is when our government gives out the Earned Income Tax Credit. Although a person has a tax liability of zero or in other words paid no taxes throughout the year, they are still able to get a refund of up to $4716 depending on marital and familial status. Why is it called a refund if they paid no money in? For our elected officials to decide that they're going to buy votes by giving voters my money is something I find terribly wrong. We know they do this with special interest budget line items also. When are we going to believe as John F. Kennedy so famously stated, "ask not what your country can do for you, but ask what you can do for your country?" I fear that if we fail to start thinking more along these lines soon, we'll sink to a point of no recovery where total socialism is inevitable. You may snicker and call me an alarmist, but there are many lines in the sand beyond the one you draw. I don't mean to sound cruel or uncaring towards people with lower income, but if I'm still paying money into the system and they're handing it out in the form of cash payments, they're taking my money and giving it to others. This is not what this country is about. Am I in France, Cuba, or America? It's getting more difficult to tell over time. Just because I make a certain amount of money does not mean I'm rich. I have credit card debt, a mortgage, a car loan, and minimal savings. I also donate a substantial amount to charity even in spite of this. Hey, Marxists in Washington, I need my money sent to me. I'll spend it. I promise. Is there something logically wrong with this? Is anyone paying attention?

The Elections and How To Win!!

Now we're "stuck" with Barack Obama or John McCain. One's a racist and the other's an idiot. Here's a picture of AT LEAST the next four years if either of them are elected.

Scenario One: Barack wins. He implements corporate tax plans...always remember a favorite saying of mine "CORPORATIONS DO NOT PAY TAXES!" Guess who pays them? We do! Remember the corporate taxes on cigarettes? Who is paying them now at $4 a pack? If I make widgets that I sell for $1 a piece and you tax me 25 cents, guess how much I will now charge? Simple math...$1.25. That's the way it works. So, Barack gets in while we're sliding into a recession. Taxes us. Creates new "welfare" programs such as healthcare, job training, you know, a better America. He wants change, but we don't want that kind in the end. They cost money. Money the economy doesn't have. Fuel costs are outrageous because we have NO energy policy and take money from America's pockets and ship it overseas to the oil producers and refiners (nice job greenpeace democrat idiots). Corporations start laying off people (like they're doing right now) and those people now don't buy televisions, cars, furniture, etc. So now with less goods being sold, those manufacturers lay off people and they begin to NOT buy. So, down the path we go with the democrats trying to vote in every possible giveaway they can in an effort to get more voters to vote for them. In the meantime, the economy slides down the tubes. Look at history. Remember the Carter years? You aint seen nothing yet.

Scenario Two: John McCain becomes president. He's Obama light (pardon the pun). The only thing I know that is different is his foreign policy. Okay. So he'll keep us safer. What else? Didn't this man come from a border state? Has he done ANYTHING to help the citizens of his state? No. He gave us McCain/Kennedy which would grant citizenship to lots of illegal immigrants. I'm not anti-immigrant, I just want to make sure we perform background checks on ANY immigrant from ANY country. Plus, don't you all remember the social security and medicare systems that are going bankrupt? What happens when we import millions of low income citizens into our country? Think that won't bankrupt us sooner? Also, McCain is a total global warming nut job (along with Obama). Since our economy is already sliding down the tubes, why don't we grease the sliding board with more new requirements to stop global warming? Have you people considered that the CONSENSUS scientists who said the world was going to keep warming and the sea levels rising are also the same people who didn't predict this period of global cooling? Just two years ago they forecasted "killer hurricanes" due to global warming and we had one of the calmest hurricane seasons in history. They don't understand how the Sun works. Sunspot's effect on earth? Not sure. Why is the Sun's corona hotter than the surface? They don't know. What are the Alven waves purpose on the Sun (they just discovered these in 2007)? Don't know. So, if they don't know how the "heater" of the Earth functions, how in the heck do they know what's responsible for global warming.

McCain "might" replace two leftist Supreme Court justices with people who actually believe in the Constitution, but there's no guarantee. Couldn't you see him saying "I don't want to imbalance the court, so I'm putting two more left-wingers on the court." The problem with left-wingers is they do not belong on the court. The Constitution was written so that a majority vote in congress was required to change it. That way, a panel of unelected judges couldn't just make up the rules as they went along. Like they have been recently. If you're going to change the law, do it where it's supposed to be changed. But will McCain save the court? I'm not really sure.

So, the economy will still go zipping down the tubes under McCain. The democrats will blame it all on McCain and the "Republican Administration." When, in fact, the President really has little horsepower when it comes to the economy. He can veto budgets, affect foreign policy, and pick justices. Beyond that, if Congress has enough votes to over-ride a veto (which they do with just a little help from liberal republicans), the country is doomed economically by the passage of high tax and spend budgets. Two years into McCain's presidency, the democrats will be blaming him. The media won't tell the truth. They'll just play soundbites of "McCain tried, the country fried" and such nonsense and Americans will believe it. At the polls for house and senate seats they'll put MORE democrats in, feeding gasoline on the fire. The economy will tank more. Two years later, they'll do the SAME thing and then will definitely put a democrat president in. After all, McCain caused all of it and he's a republican (supposedly).

So, EIGHT years of pain if McCain gets in. Four if Barack wins. Here's my alternative plan. Vote for Bob Barr. He is running on the Libertarian ticket. He wants LESS government. This means they won't be wasting our money to buy votes from special interests. His web site is www.bobbarr2008.com and a good reference point for this and all other elections is www.ontheissues.org. You can look up what candidates have done...not what they'll say they'll do. If enough of us vote for Bob, maybe they'll get the message that we want LESS government waste and will start turning in that direction. He probably won't win, but what difference does it make who wins at this point. We just need to send a clear message to the losers in Washington. Please help!!

Going After Greedy Corporations

Thank God for capitalism and corporate greed. It looks like greedy corporations have seen the future of oil and they've decided to invest in new technology with their ugly, ill-gotten profits. I think it's definitely a scheme to make even more profits. Funny how that works. Greed brought us the first automobile, the television, the telephone, prescription drugs which make our lives more comfortable, and the list goes on and on. The government didn't do it. Private corporations, by far, account for most of our inventions. Some inventions were the direct result of government spending for military research and development, but again, they were not government-owned companies. They were corporations hired by the government.

When are we, as taxpayers, going to recognize that the government is not our savior? When are we going to demand that our elected officials stop wasting time grilling oil company executives on why oil prices are so high? Then again, if they're doing that, they aren't passing ridiculous laws regulating how much water a toilet can use per flush, which is a good thing. But I digress. Our poor energy policy regulated by none other than our politicians has created this crisis. Their plan was the "No Plan." They learned it from Nancy Reagan apparently because they just said "no." No to drilling. No to building refineries. No to nuclear power. Ted Kennedy even said no to a windmill farm off of the Massachusetts coast because it would detract from the beauty of the environment. And here they are, with the audacity to ask the oil companies why oil prices are so high. Are we stupid?

The government gave us wonderful plans such as welfare, enslaving generation after generation to government subsidies. It was supposed to save the poor. The truth is that it's given them no initiative or incentive to plan their families, careers, or lives. The government also gave us the IRS, DMV, NASA and their exploding vehicles, and don't forget the collapsing social security system. They pushed HMO's, or at least the democrats did, and now they demonize them.

Politicians devised schemes to shove more and more money at our public education system "for the children." Their plans have resulted in lower and lower test scores, year after year. Their answer for this? Change the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) scoring system so that test scores will be higher when students perform poorer. They make such claims as "the average scores are going down because more low-income children are taking the tests." Oh yeah? When not comparing SAT scores, how come American children are doing increasingly worse in math and science when compared to other countries? Aren't other countries also testing more of the underclass? Seems like government planning is miserable, but they're very successful at spending our money.

But back to the topic at hand. Even without the government mandates, we are going to see hydrogen cars on the road perhaps as early as 2010. It seems there's a market for the cars. Soon they'll hire people to manufacture them, reap profits, and pay dividends to their stockholders. Those dog gone greedy corporations. They did it to us again.